Performing field inspections with Geocortex Mobile

Performing field inspections with Geocortex Mobile (OOB Editing) [Geocortex Tech Tip]

Phil MacIntyre
Phil MacIntyre
Quality Assurance Analyst
April 3, 2020

Performing field inspections with Geocortex Mobile (OOB Editing) [Geocortex Tech Tip]

Geocortex Mobile is the world’s most capable framework for configuring and building mobile offline-capable apps on Esri’s ArcGIS platform.

By configuring your data in your ArcGIS Online or Portal Enterprise environment as well as the Geocortex Mobile App Designer, your GIS administrators can provide a streamlined editing experience for your field workers. Simply give them the data they need without any unnecessary clutter to help maximize their field data collection efficiency.

With that in mind, today’s Geocortex Tech Tip is dedicated to showing you how Geocortex Mobile’s feature editing capabilities are designed to integrate and enhance your existing Esri solutions.

Watch on YouTube.

Video Transcript

“Hi, I’m Phil. I’m a Software QA Analyst with the Geocortex Mobile team, and today we are going to look at some of our out-of-the box feature editing capabilities.

Gecortex Mobile’s feature editing capabilities are designed to integrate with and enhance the ArcGIS or Portal Enterprise editing experience.

We begin our journey as we usually do, here in my ArcGIS Online or Portal Enterprise environment. I’m going to navigate over to my content section to select the web map that I would like to use to start this with. There are several different places throughout this process where a GIS administrator can configure the editing experience for your field users.

If I would like to control the editing for a single layer, such as this one here, I can navigate to its entry within my environment, navigate to the ‘Settings’ tab, and when I scroll down to see the configurations, I see that I can turn editing on or off completely, and if it’s enabled, I have the option to set fine-grained editing controls.

You can also configure what features will appear for your users by going into the ArcGIS Online Map Viewer and configuring the pop-up. This pop-up will control what attributes are displayed or editable. This is great if they are fields that are valuable to a GIS administrator, but not so useful to your field users. For example, an object ID might be very valuable for an administrator, but to a field user, it might not be terribly useful. So, once I’ve configured all my settings for my attribute fields and editing permissions, it’s time to take the web map over into our Mobile App Designer.

From here, I can simply go and create a new app, via our mobile default template. Once this loads, it’s going to integrate with my ArcGIS Online account. So, I’m going to navigate over to the ‘Map’ panel here on the side. We have a default web map configured, but I’m going to select the one that we were just working on right here.

So, once this loads it then reaches into your account and goes and pulls out those same layers that we were looking at and here we have yet another way of controlling what sort of editing experience your users are going to have. For an individual layer, I can use these four toggles here to decide whether or not that feature can be identified, whether it can be searched for, whether it can be edited, or whether it can be deleted and all of these permissions are respected from the ArcGIS Online settings and cascade on down.

I can get a little bit more fine-grained as well, if for a specific attribute field. If I’d like it to be searchable or not, I can also toggle that there. Once I am satisfied with all of my settings, I can simply save my app, and give it an appropriate title, save and I’m ready to hand my app off my field users.

When I’m ready to head out to the field, I’m going to fire up my preferred mobile device and I’m going to launch the Geocortex Go app. Because I was already signed in, it’s going to take me to our app selector screen, which contains a list of all the apps that I have available to me, including the one we just created in the Mobile App Designer here at the top left.

So, I’m going to click into that and this is going to take to a view of that same web map we configured before, containing a bunch of points, polylines, and polygons with different styles and symbology.

The first step to editing a feature is to identify it. You can do it in a few ways such as our Search tool here. So, I can enter in a term that I know corresponds to a feature, which applies a highlight there. I can use the ‘Zoom to Feature’ button there, which will zoom me into it and pulse the map, and I can see the information. When I click ‘Edit’, it’s going to change my view, which allows me to modify the geometry just by tapping around in the map wherever I’d like it to go, and then I can go and make the adjustments to the appropriate fields, entering in some numbers, using some dropdowns, some text fields to indicate that my report has been completed, there we go, and then I’m going to stamp it with today’s date, and click ‘Save,’ and we will see the geometry has moved and the feature attributes have been updated.

Now, in addition to doing the search, I can also just simply tap on a feature, which again applies that highlight there, and so when I go and click ‘Edit’ because this is a polyline, it’s going to change the experience, which indicates that I can just grab onto those nodes and drag and drop them to wherever I would like to update the geometry for, and I can go and replace them that placeholder name with the real one because I know this is West 4th Street. I’m going to click ‘Save’ and we’ll see the geometry and the feature attribute has been updated.

In addition to working with points, polylines and polygons, we can also work with related records. So, I’m going to zoom in and pick this feature here that has a Backflow Inspection related record that has already been completed, but I want to adjust it. So, I’m going to go in, again I can see all the appropriate fields, I’m going to click on ‘edit’ and it’s going to take me to this same type of experience, where I can go adjust the fields as appropriate, we’ll just update the date for now and click ‘Save’. There we go.

In addition to the identify and search, you can also configure a workflow to specifically identify a feature if you would like. This is for the online experience, but Geocortex Mobile also allows you to go offline by activating a map area. This gives me that same sort of feature experience, but within a specific area set for offline. So, I can tap around and identify a couple of different features, but this time let’s take a look at a polygon.

So, we are going to zoom in, we’re going to hit ‘Edit’ and again those nodes appear, which indicates that I can then drag them out and redefine my geometry like so (not the prettiest work I’ve ever done, but you get the idea). I can go and modify that field, and click ‘Save’, and there we go!

I now have the geometry and the features updated and stored it in that map area. So, you’ll see that ‘Send Changes’ badge is ready, which indicates that the data is in an offline state, so when I go back online, I can simply click on the ‘Send Changes’ button, and those changes will be pushed up to the cloud.

This concludes our demonstration for out-of-the-box feature editing capabilities. I hope you found it useful and don’t forget to subscribe to our YouTube channel as we are putting out great new content all the time. Thank you very much and have a great day!”

Want to learn more about Geocortex Mobile and Geocortex Go? Click below to discover more about the product or to schedule a demo.

Discover Geocortex Mobile

 

 


Categories:
Archive
Open: 2020
2020
October 16, 2020

Considerations when migrating from Geocortex Viewer for HTML5 to Geocortex Web [Geocortex Tech Tip]

October 9, 2020

Launching a report from Geocortex Inline [Geocortex Tech Tip]

October 2, 2020

How to include the current map image in a report [Geocortex Tech Tip]

September 25, 2020

Database monitoring in Geocortex Analytics [Geocortex Tech Tip]

September 18, 2020

Efficiently setting field permissions using advanced JavaScript permissions [Geocortex Tech Tip]

September 11, 2020

How to set different user and group permissions on fields and attributes in Geocortex Access Control [Geocortex Tech Tip]

September 4, 2020

Filter expression syntax and operators with Geocortex Access Control [Geocortex Tech Tip]

August 28, 2020

Leveraging attribute filters in Geocortex Access Control [Geocortex Tech Tip]

August 21, 2020

Using layer filter effects in Geocortex Web [Geocortex Tech Tip]

August 14, 2020

Conditional Tips in Geocortex Inline [Geocortex Tech Tip]

August 7, 2020

Configuring KPI cards in Geocortex Web [Geocortex Tech Tip]

July 31, 2020

Find your way around a workflow using the new Navigator component [Geocortex Tech Tip]

July 24, 2020

Working with symbols in Geocortex Workflow (Accessing JavaScript 3.x & 4.x playground etc) [Geocortex Tech Tip]

July 22, 2020

Simplify Pipeline Integrity Management with Geocortex Inline [Webinar]

July 17, 2020

Configuring Geocortex Web Events in Geocortex Web [Geocortex Tech Tip]

July 10, 2020

Creating and configuring launch links in Geocortex Mobile [Geocortex Tech Tip]

July 3, 2020

Using environment variables for application management in Geocortex Web and Geocortex Mobile Designer [Geocortex Tech Tip]

June 26, 2020

Understanding feature actions in the Geocortex Web and Geocortex Mobile Designers [Geocortex Tech Tip]

June 19, 2020

Geocortex Essentials import/export support enhancements in 4.13 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

June 12, 2020

Using Union Geometries in Geocortex Workflow [Geocortex Tech Tip]

June 5, 2020

Removing unneeded applications in Geocortex Web and Geocortex Mobile Designer [Geocortex Tech Tip]

May 29, 2020

A deeper dive on advanced View Designer configuration [Geocortex Tech Tip]

May 22, 2020

Launching a workflow in Geocortex Inline [Geocortex Tech Tip]

May 20, 2020

Geocortex Essentials 4.13: Additional development tools and external widget support let you customize your apps even further

May 15, 2020

Understanding points of interest and station locator [Geocortex Tech Tip]

May 8, 2020

Using the Inline Designer to build linear referencing views [Geocortex Tech Tip]

May 1, 2020

Understanding performance differences between Geocortex Workflow and the workflow capability in Geocortex Essentials [Geocortex Tech Tip]

April 24, 2020

Printing a vector tile layer in Geocortex Printing vs the Printing widget in Geocortex Essentials [Geocortex Tech Tip]

April 17, 2020

Producing layer reports in Geocortex Reporting vs the Reporting widget in Geocortex Essentials [Geocortex Tech Tip]

April 10, 2020

Comparing dynamic forms in Geocortex Workflow vs Geocortex Essentials [Geocortex Tech Tip]

April 7, 2020

Take control of your GIS with Geocortex Access Control [Webinar]

April 3, 2020

Performing field inspections with Geocortex Mobile (OOB Editing) [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 27, 2020

Working with Conditional Expressions in Geocortex Reporting [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 20, 2020

Export support and new third party map integration widgets [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 13, 2020

Configure and Monitor a Web AppBuilder Web Application from Geocortex Analytics [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 11, 2020

Geocortex Events and COVID-19/Coronavirus

March 6, 2020

Running a batch script from an alarm with Geocortex Analytics [Geocortex Tech Tip]

February 28, 2020

Understand how your users are engaging with the tools in your applications [Geocortex Tech Tip]

February 21, 2020

How to manage alarms in Geocortex Analytics [Geocortex Tech Tip]

Open: 2019
2019
December 18, 2019

Geocortex in 2019, and a glimpse of what's to come

December 5, 2019

Four key benefits to adopting a mobile GIS solution

November 29, 2019

Using Geocortex Mobile to collect survey data [Geocortex Tech Tip]

November 27, 2019

Dive into Geocortex Analytics [Webinar]

November 22, 2019

How to input parameters on prints [Geocortex Tech Tip]

November 15, 2019

How to include feature attachments in reports [Geocortex Tech Tip]

November 14, 2019

Understanding application management in the Designer [Geocortex Tech Tip]

November 14, 2019

How to reference symbology from web maps [Geocortex Tech Tip]

November 14, 2019

How Geocortex Mobile can integrate with other apps [Geocortex Tech Tip]

November 14, 2019

Implementing Arcade Expressions in Geocortex Essentials [Geocortex Tech Tip]

November 14, 2019

Customer Spotlight: Geocortex Mobile

November 14, 2019

How to Format Your Reports [Geocortex Tech Tip]

November 14, 2019

Showing an image in a form after a file picker [Geocortex Tech Tip]

November 14, 2019

Richard Wiegmann Joins VertiGIS as President and CEO

September 27, 2019

Understanding the toolbar in Geocortex Web [Geocortex Tech Tip]

September 20, 2019

Refining Results in Geocortex Web [Geocortex Tech Tip]

September 19, 2019

Charting data using Geocortex Reporting: Honing your charting skills

September 13, 2019

Utilizing the flexibility of layout in Geocortex Web [Geocortex Tech Tip]

September 6, 2019

Creating Geocortex Web applications that move seamlessly between 2D and 3D [Geocortex Tech Tip]

August 28, 2019

Geocortex adds support for Arcade scripting and ArcGIS Online smart mapping

August 23, 2019

How to create sections and groups for your reports [Geocortex Tech Tip]

August 16, 2019

Displaying SQL Server Data in Geocortex Workflow [Geocortex Tech Tip]

August 14, 2019

Customer Spotlight: Geocortex Essentials

August 8, 2019

City of Austin: Spreading floodplain awareness with Geocortex

August 1, 2019

Geocortex Essentials 4.12: Improved integration with ArcGIS® Online

July 25, 2019

Introduction to Geocortex Printing: Learn to build stunning print templates

July 17, 2019

Updates to the Geocortex Product Life Cycle

July 8, 2019

Extending Web AppBuilder for ArcGIS® with Geocortex Essentials [Webinar]

July 4, 2019

City of Bellingham: Using Geocortex to take the stress out of water shut-off

June 27, 2019

Geocortex at the 2019 Esri User Conference

June 14, 2019

Customer Spotlight: Geocortex Workflow

May 17, 2019

Important Notice - Outage Issues & New Support Cases

May 17, 2019

How to build a summary report with aggregations of feature data [Geocortex Tech Tip]

May 16, 2019

Technology Q&A: Geocortex Mobile

May 10, 2019

How to create print templates for Web AppBuilder for ArcGIS®[Geocortex Tech Tip]

May 8, 2019

Dive into Geocortex Printing [Webinar]

May 3, 2019

Using Geocortex Workflow and Geocortex Reporting to produce a multi-layer report [Geocortex Tech Tip]

May 1, 2019

Market-Leading GIS Software and Services Companies Join to Form VertiGIS

May 1, 2019

Introducing VertiGIS

April 18, 2019

Integrating Workflows into Geocortex Mobile [Geocortex Tech Tip]

April 17, 2019

Customer Spotlight: Geocortex Reporting

April 12, 2019

Using Geocortex Go to preview app configurations [Geocortex Tech Tip]

April 10, 2019

How to Address Complex Form Navigation Using Geocortex Workflow

April 5, 2019

Building native, offline IOS, Android and Windows apps with Geocortex Mobile Viewer [Geocortex Tech Tip]

April 3, 2019

Streamlining mobile operations with Geocortex Mobile Viewer [Webinar]

March 29, 2019

A better way to run geoprocessing tasks in Web AppBuilder for ArcGIS [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 28, 2019

Extend the reach and capabilities of your applications with integrations [eBook]

March 22, 2019

Displaying data from SQL Database when you select features [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 20, 2019

How Geocortex users are enriching the communities they serve

March 15, 2019

How to Configure a Geocortex Essentials layer report with Geocortex Reporting 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 14, 2019

Region of Waterloo: How GIS & Geocortex technology helped meet local Source Protection Plan requirements

March 6, 2019

Integrating Business Intelligence and Data Sources with Geocortex Essentials [Webinar]

March 1, 2019

How to quickly add attachments to new features when editing [Geocortex Tech Tip]

February 22, 2019

Generating a report with sub reports from external data sources [Geocortex Tech Tip]

February 20, 2019

Geocortex Essentials 4.11: Saving Time & Increasing Efficiency

February 15, 2019

Accessing Samples and Building your First Workflow [Geocortex Tech Tip]

February 12, 2019

Open Beta of Geocortex Printing 5 Has Begun

February 8, 2019

Different Ways of Creating Selections of Features in Geocortex Viewer for HTML 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

February 6, 2019

4 Best Practices to Follow When Using Geocortex Workflow 5

February 1, 2019

Creating a Report that Displays a Screenshot of the Map [Geocortex Tech Tip]

January 28, 2019

Diving Into Geocortex Reporting 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

January 24, 2019

How Geocortex is Advancing Water Management Solutions

January 16, 2019

Creating Custom User Experiences with Geocortex Workflow 5 [Webinar]

January 11, 2019

Showing the search results using the item picker in Geocortex Workflow 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

January 9, 2019

City of Troy: Using GIS and asset management technologies to manage legislative requirements

January 4, 2019

Using scripting to put attachments in reports in Geocortex Reporting 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

Open: 2018
2018
December 21, 2018

Integrating Pictometry, Bing and other 3rd party maps within your Geocortex applications

December 19, 2018

Recapping the Texas Geocortex Regional User Group

December 14, 2018

How to use Geocortex Workflow 5 to populate the Attribute Table in Web AppBuilder for ArcGIS [Geocortex Tech Tip]

December 12, 2018

Finding yourself: Using geolocation in mobile and web applications [Webinar]

December 7, 2018

Enabling real-time user-to-user map collaboration within Geocortex Essentials

December 5, 2018

Reflecting on 2018

November 30, 2018

Creating mailing labels with reports with Geocortex Reporting 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

November 29, 2018

Alberta Energy Regulator: Supporting safe and responsible energy resource operations

November 26, 2018

Important update for ArcGIS and Transport Layer Security (TLS) Protocol Support!

November 23, 2018

Using fine-grained security to control access to layers, features, attributes and application functionality [Geocortex Tech Tip]

November 21, 2018

Enhancing Web AppBuilder for ArcGIS® with Geocortex Reporting [Webinar]

November 16, 2018

Using Geocortex Workflow 5 to automatically display a form for editing layer attributes [Geocortex Tech Tip]

November 15, 2018

Geocortex Achieves Esri’s “Release Ready Specialty” Designation

November 14, 2018

Celebrating GIS Day with York Regional Police: How GIS Data Has Mitigated Risk & Increased Efficiency in Crime Prevention

November 9, 2018

How to access a SQL database from a workflow using Geocortex Workflow 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

November 2, 2018

How to send an email from a workflow using Geocortex Workflow 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

October 26, 2018

How to add and configure charts inside reports with Geocortex Reporting 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

October 24, 2018

Geocortex Water Webinar Series

October 19, 2018

Integrating Geocortex Essentials with ArcGIS Online and ArcGIS Enterprise portal [Geocortex Tech Tip]

October 17, 2018

Cross-Platform Development with Xamarin [Webinar]

October 12, 2018

City of Fort Collins: Dynamic flood maps for public awareness, and flood insurance rate saving

October 2, 2018

Technology Q&A: Geocortex Workflow 5 “Behind the Firewall”

June 27, 2018

Geocortex Essentials 4.10 is here!

June 12, 2018

Geocortex and the GDPR

June 6, 2018

Geocortex at the 2018 Esri User Conference

May 15, 2018

Technology Q&A: The evolution of Geocortex and Web AppBuilder for ArcGIS

April 25, 2018

How to manage data collected from Geocortex Workflow 5 forms [Geocortex Tech Tip]

April 18, 2018

Delivering accessible mapping applications for everyone [Geocortex Tech Tip]

April 11, 2018

How to search for data in a non-spatial database [Geocortex Tech Tip]

April 5, 2018

Configuring Geocortex Analytics to monitor a new Portal for ArcGIS instance [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 27, 2018

Getting started with forms in Geocortex Workflow 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 21, 2018

Using Geocortex Workflow with Web AppBuilder for ArcGIS [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 15, 2018

Understanding tool usage in your GIS applications [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 7, 2018

Running Geocortex Essentials workflows from an identify operation [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 2, 2018

GIS Health Assessment: A new way to think about your system

February 28, 2018

Using the in-app help system in Geocortex Workflow 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

February 21, 2018

How to configure a personalized dashboard in Geocortex Analytics [Geocortex Tech Tip]

January 25, 2018

GIS is shifting to SaaS, and it’s a win for everyone


Categories

Popular Tags
Access Control Accessibility Active Operating Picture ArcGIS customer spotlight Customer Story Designer Energy Esri Geocortex Geocortex 5-Series Geocortex Access Control Geocortex Analytics Geocortex Essentials Geocortex Inline geocortex integrations geocortex mobile Geocortex Mobile Viewer geocortex printing Geocortex Reporting Geocortex Reporting 5 geocortex tech tip Geocortex Tech Tips geocortex training Geocortex Viewer for HTML5 geocortex web Geocortex Web Viewer Geocortex Workflow Geocortex Workflow 5 GIS GIS Day GIS Health Integrations mobile gis Pipelines Tech Tip Tech Tips Tip Tips Transportation vertigis Web AppBuilder Web GIS Workflow Xamarin

Contributors