Using Geocortex Go to preview app configurations

Using Geocortex Go to preview app configurations [Geocortex Tech Tip]

Cam Carmichael
Cam Carmichael
Product Manager
April 12, 2019

Using Geocortex Go to preview app configurations [Geocortex Tech Tip]

Geocortex Mobile is the world’s most capable framework for configuring and building mobile offline-capable apps on Esri’s ArcGIS platform.

One of the many interesting capabilities of Geocortex Mobile is that you can use it alongside the companion app, Geocortex Go, to preview the apps you develop and deploy them with ease. Geocortex Go is available for free from the iOS Android and Windows app stores.

In today’s Geocortex Tech Tip, we’ll give you a quick overview of Geocortex Go and demonstrate how it allows both GIS application developers to easily preview their mobile apps during the development process, and mobile agents to quickly access those applications to report on their work in the field.

Watch on YouTube.

Video Transcription

“Hi, I’m Cam Carmichael, I’m the Product Manager for our Geocortex Mobile Viewer.

In today’s Tech Tip, I’ll be introducing Geocortex Go, and showing how it can be used as a companion for our designer app.

Gecortex Go is an important part of the Geocortex Mobile Viewer platform.

As a companion app to our designer, it can be used to preview applications that you’re creating, and it can also be used as an easy way to deploy production apps to your field workers.

Geocortex Go is available for free from the iOS, Android, and Windows app stores.

Here’s the Android listing.

To install it from any of the stores, simply follow the usual install instructions.

Let’s create a new app in our Geocortex Mobile Viewer Designer and see how this works.

I’m going to go ahead and create a new app.

While I wait for that to load, I’m going to go and grab a reference to a web map from my ArcGIS Online account.

Back in the designer, I’m going to go to the map component. I’m going to paste in the reference to the web map. We can see some layers appear indicating that it’s got the right map and I’m just going to go ahead and save this, so we can preview it.

I’m going to jump back to Geocortex Go.

I’m going to log in with my credentials. When I get logged in, I will see a number of apps listed that I have access to.

These are my apps, sorted by last updated in the tech tip app that we just created – it appears at the top of the list.

Let’s go ahead and load it.

This is now a fully functional Geocortex Mobile viewer app running from the Geocortex Go Launcher and I can see the web map that we’ve pulled in.

I can also see some things like this blue I want to menu and some blue highlighting. Let’s go ahead and change that by jumping back to our designer and looking at the branding elements.

I’ll go ahead and change that to this green, save our app, and in the development process now, when I simply come back to Geocortex Go and refreshed my app, you can see now that those things are green.

Any of the updates that I make can simply be viewed by going to refresh app off the I want to menu.

Let’s look at how we could use the same process to deliver applications to our field workers.

I’m going to jump back into our designer. We’ve made all the changes that we want to for this application, we’re really happy with it.

I’m going to go ahead and I’m going to make sure it’s saved and then I’m going to go and hit this deploy button and I’m going to deploy and push this straight to production.

It’s worth noting that there are various deployment strategies that I could use if I wanted to be able to send it to testers before it went to production or if I wanted to be able to stage my changes, I could do that. But, in this environment we’re just going to go straight to production.

When I push this application to production, it’ll create a new instance of the application and if I jump back to Geocortex Go and I return all the way back to the Go interface, you can see now that there’s a production app.

I could share this app with my field workers, and this would be the only app that they would see when they launched Geocortex Go on their device.

If I launch this “Tech Tip” app, the production instance now, you can see that it is exactly as our app was. I can continue to go ahead and make other changes in this app and they won’t become available to my field workers until I choose to publish those to production.

That’s a quick overview of how Geocortex go can be used as a companion app for the Geocortex Mobile Viewer Designer during app development and how it can also be used potentially to deploy apps to your field workers.

Before we leave this Tech Tip if there’s one other aspect I’d like to show.

I’m going to go back to Geocortex Go and I’m going to sign out and down at the bottom here you’ll see there’s a link to try out sample apps.

If you don’t have an ArcGIS identity or if you aren’t in an environment where the designer has created apps for you to work with, you can use this as a mechanism to simply kick the tires and get a feel for how it works.

This is a preview then of all of the functionality of a Geocortex Mobile app, we encourage you to go ahead and download your Geocortex Go from the app stores and try this out for free.

To recap: Geocortex Go is available on iOS, Android, and Windows app stores for free. It can be used as a companion app during the development process. It can be used to deploy apps to field workers, and can be used if you don’t have an ArcGIS identity to simply get a feel for what these apps are like.

Thanks for watching this Tech tip!”

Want to learn more about Geocortex Mobile and Geocortex Go? Click below to discover more about the product or to schedule a demo.

Discover Geocortex Mobile


Categories:
Archive
Open: 2019
2019
August 16, 2019

Displaying SQL Server Data in Geocortex Workflow [Geocortex Tech Tip]

August 14, 2019

Customer Spotlight: Geocortex Essentials

August 8, 2019

City of Austin: Spreading floodplain awareness with Geocortex

August 1, 2019

Geocortex Essentials 4.12: Improved integration with ArcGIS® Online

July 25, 2019

Introduction to Geocortex Printing: Learn to build stunning print templates

July 17, 2019

Updates to the Geocortex Product Life Cycle

July 8, 2019

Extending Web AppBuilder for ArcGIS® with Geocortex Essentials [Webinar]

July 4, 2019

City of Bellingham: Using Geocortex to take the stress out of water shut-off

June 27, 2019

Geocortex at the 2019 Esri User Conference

June 14, 2019

Customer Spotlight: Geocortex Workflow

May 17, 2019

Important Notice - Outage Issues & New Support Cases

May 17, 2019

How to build a summary report with aggregations of feature data [Geocortex Tech Tip]

May 16, 2019

Technology Q&A: Geocortex Mobile

May 10, 2019

How to create print templates for Web AppBuilder for ArcGIS®[Geocortex Tech Tip]

May 8, 2019

Dive into Geocortex Printing [Webinar]

May 3, 2019

Using Geocortex Workflow and Geocortex Reporting to produce a multi-layer report [Geocortex Tech Tip]

May 1, 2019

Market-Leading GIS Software and Services Companies Join to Form VertiGIS

May 1, 2019

Introducing VertiGIS

April 18, 2019

Integrating Workflows into Geocortex Mobile [Geocortex Tech Tip]

April 17, 2019

Customer Spotlight: Geocortex Reporting

April 12, 2019

Using Geocortex Go to preview app configurations [Geocortex Tech Tip]

April 10, 2019

How to Address Complex Form Navigation Using Geocortex Workflow

April 5, 2019

Building native, offline IOS, Android and Windows apps with Geocortex Mobile Viewer [Geocortex Tech Tip]

April 3, 2019

Streamlining mobile operations with Geocortex Mobile Viewer [Webinar]

March 29, 2019

A better way to run geoprocessing tasks in Web AppBuilder for ArcGIS [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 28, 2019

Extend the reach and capabilities of your applications with integrations [eBook]

March 22, 2019

Displaying data from SQL Database when you select features [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 20, 2019

How Geocortex users are enriching the communities they serve

March 15, 2019

How to Configure a Geocortex Essentials layer report with Geocortex Reporting 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 14, 2019

Region of Waterloo: How GIS & Geocortex technology helped meet local Source Protection Plan requirements

March 6, 2019

Integrating Business Intelligence and Data Sources with Geocortex Essentials [Webinar]

March 1, 2019

How to quickly add attachments to new features when editing [Geocortex Tech Tip]

February 22, 2019

Generating a report with sub reports from external data sources [Geocortex Tech Tip]

February 20, 2019

Geocortex Essentials 4.11: Saving Time & Increasing Efficiency

February 15, 2019

Accessing Samples and Building your First Workflow [Geocortex Tech Tip]

February 12, 2019

Open Beta of Geocortex Printing 5 Has Begun

February 8, 2019

Different Ways of Creating Selections of Features in Geocortex Viewer for HTML 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

February 6, 2019

4 Best Practices to Follow When Using Geocortex Workflow 5

February 1, 2019

Creating a Report that Displays a Screenshot of the Map [Geocortex Tech Tip]

January 28, 2019

Diving Into Geocortex Reporting 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

January 24, 2019

How Geocortex is Advancing Water Management Solutions

January 16, 2019

Creating Custom User Experiences with Geocortex Workflow 5 [Webinar]

January 11, 2019

Showing the search results using the item picker in Geocortex Workflow 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

January 9, 2019

City of Troy: Using GIS and asset management technologies to manage legislative requirements

January 4, 2019

Using scripting to put attachments in reports in Geocortex Reporting 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

Open: 2018
2018
December 21, 2018

Integrating Pictometry, Bing and other 3rd party maps within your Geocortex applications

December 19, 2018

Recapping the Texas Geocortex Regional User Group

December 14, 2018

How to use Geocortex Workflow 5 to populate the Attribute Table in Web AppBuilder for ArcGIS [Geocortex Tech Tip]

December 12, 2018

Finding yourself: Using geolocation in mobile and web applications [Webinar]

December 7, 2018

Enabling real-time user-to-user map collaboration within Geocortex Essentials

December 5, 2018

Reflecting on 2018

November 30, 2018

Creating mailing labels with reports with Geocortex Reporting 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

November 29, 2018

Alberta Energy Regulator: Supporting safe and responsible energy resource operations

November 26, 2018

Important update for ArcGIS and Transport Layer Security (TLS) Protocol Support!

November 23, 2018

Using fine-grained security to control access to layers, features, attributes and application functionality [Geocortex Tech Tip]

November 21, 2018

Enhancing Web AppBuilder for ArcGIS® with Geocortex Reporting [Webinar]

November 16, 2018

Using Geocortex Workflow 5 to automatically display a form for editing layer attributes [Geocortex Tech Tip]

November 15, 2018

Geocortex Achieves Esri’s “Release Ready Specialty” Designation

November 14, 2018

Celebrating GIS Day with York Regional Police: How GIS Data Has Mitigated Risk & Increased Efficiency in Crime Prevention

November 9, 2018

How to access a SQL database from a workflow using Geocortex Workflow 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

November 2, 2018

How to send an email from a workflow using Geocortex Workflow 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

October 26, 2018

How to add and configure charts inside reports with Geocortex Reporting 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

October 24, 2018

Geocortex Water Webinar Series

October 19, 2018

Integrating Geocortex Essentials with ArcGIS Online and ArcGIS Enterprise portal [Geocortex Tech Tip]

October 17, 2018

Cross-Platform Development with Xamarin [Webinar]

October 12, 2018

City of Fort Collins: Dynamic flood maps for public awareness, and flood insurance rate saving

October 2, 2018

Technology Q&A: Geocortex Workflow 5 “Behind the Firewall”

June 27, 2018

Geocortex Essentials 4.10 is here!

June 12, 2018

Geocortex and the GDPR

June 6, 2018

Geocortex at the 2018 Esri User Conference

May 15, 2018

Technology Q&A: The evolution of Geocortex and Web AppBuilder for ArcGIS

April 25, 2018

How to manage data collected from Geocortex Workflow 5 forms [Geocortex Tech Tip]

April 18, 2018

Delivering accessible mapping applications for everyone [Geocortex Tech Tip]

April 11, 2018

How to search for data in a non-spatial database [Geocortex Tech Tip]

April 5, 2018

Configuring Geocortex Analytics to monitor a new Portal for ArcGIS instance [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 27, 2018

Getting started with forms in Geocortex Workflow 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 21, 2018

Using Geocortex Workflow with Web AppBuilder for ArcGIS [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 15, 2018

Understanding tool usage in your GIS applications [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 7, 2018

Running Geocortex Essentials workflows from an identify operation [Geocortex Tech Tip]

March 2, 2018

GIS Health Assessment: A new way to think about your system

February 28, 2018

Using the in-app help system in Geocortex Workflow 5 [Geocortex Tech Tip]

February 21, 2018

How to configure a personalized dashboard in Geocortex Analytics [Geocortex Tech Tip]

January 25, 2018

GIS is shifting to SaaS, and it’s a win for everyone


Categories

Popular Tags
Accessibility Active Operating Picture ArcGIS ArcGIS Online Customer Story Data Models Energy Esri esri user conference Geocortex Geocortex 5-Series Geocortex Analytics Geocortex Essentials geocortex integrations geocortex mobile Geocortex Mobile Viewer geocortex printing Geocortex Printing 5 Geocortex Reporting Geocortex Reporting 5 geocortex tech tip Geocortex Tech Tips Geocortex Viewer for HTML5 Geocortex Web Viewer Geocortex Workflow Geocortex Workflow 5 GIS GIS Day GIS Health gis integrations Integrations mobile gis Oil & Gas Pipelines Portal for ArcGIS press release SaaS Tech Tip Tech Tips Transportation vertigis Water Industry Web AppBuilder Web GIS Xamarin

Contributors